This is the first of four meetings this season. Each team won three of the six games between the two last season, with the Canadiens winning the last meeting at home, 4-1, in the final game of 2011-12 season.  One of the Canadiens losses came in a shootout.

This will be the fourth consecutive year the Canadiens have opened a season against Toronto.  The previous three games were played in Toronto.

Alex Galchenyuk will  make his NHL debut. The last  18 year old to play for the Canadiens  was goaltender Olivier Michaud who’s only career NHL appearance was one-period relief of Mathieu Garon in 2001.  The last 18 year old skater was defenceman Petr Svoboda in 1984.

Colby Armstrong and Brandon Prust will play their first game in a Canadiens uniform.   Tomas Plekanec will be in a lineup for the first time since December 28th when he suffered a rib injury in the Czech Extraliga.  Brian Gionta  will play his first game in over a year.  He suffered a torn bicep muscle January 10th, 2012 vs. St. Louis.  Francis Bouillon plays his first game in Canadiens uniform since April 2009 when he became an unrestricted free agent.

In the goals it will be Carey Price for the Canadiens, Ben Scrivens for Toronto.

Puck drop  7:21pm.

Canadiens Opening Night Lineup


67 Max Pacioretty  –     51 David Desharnais – 72 Erik Cole

27- Alex Galchenyuk –  14 Tomas Plekanec    – 21 Brian Gionta

17 Rene Bourque     – 81 Lars Eller            – 32 Travis Moen

53 Ryan White         – 8 Brandon Prust          –  20 Colby Armstrong


74 Alexei Emelin   –   79 Andrei Markov

22 Tomas Kaberle   –  26 Josh Gorges

55 Francis Bouillon   –  61 Raphael Diaz


31-Carey Price   (Backup – 30-Peter Budaj)

Scratches RW  Brendan Gallagher, RW Mike Blunden; D Yannick  Weber.   Injury Reserve – Petteri Nokelainen (back)

Toronto Opening Night Lineup



19  Joffrey Lupul –              42 Tyler Bozak –              81 Phil Kessel
16  Clarke MacArthur –      84 Mikhail Grabovski – 41 Nikolai Kulemin
21 James Van Riemsdyk – 43 Nazem Kadri –           47 Leo Komarov
28 Colton Orr –                     11 Jay McClement –       18 Mike Brown


3 Dion Phaneuf –           53 Michael Kostka
36 Carl Gunnarsson –     8 Mike Komisarek
24 John-Michael Liles – 4 Cody Franson

30 Ben Scrivens    (Backup 34 James Reimer)


Scratches –Fwd  David Steckel; D  Mark Fraser; D- Corbinian Holzer.  Injury Reserve – D Jake Gardiner (concussion)