On the eve of their 18th season opener, the Hamilton Bulldogs named centre Martin St. Pierre team captain with defenceman Greg Pateryn and forward Gabriel Dumont the alternates.In the team announcement, Bulldogs Head Coach Sylvain Lefebvre said his selections,   “With these three players, we believe we have a group capable of leading in many different ways,  Martin St. Pierre is an experienced player that has been a captain in the past, Greg Pateryn has also been a captain previously and Gabriel Dumont is a player of great character.”

Martin St. Pierre Named Captain of Hamilton Bulldogs

Martin St. Pierre Named Captain of Hamilton Bulldogs

The 30 year old St. Pierre is a ten year professional hockey veteran.  The Ottawa native is a five-time AHL all-star and comes to the Bulldogs from the Rockford IceHogs where he compiled 59 points last season.   The Canadiens signed him to a two-way NHL/AHL contract as an unrestricted free agent in the off season.  He was given a long look at Canadiens training camp before being sent to Hamilton as part of the final Canadiens cuts.

St. Pierre has played in 38 career regular season NHL games with the Chicago Blackhawks, Boston Bruins and Ottawa Senators, the undrafted forward has collected eight points (three goals, five assists) and 12 penalty minutes.  In the AHL he has scored 528  points over 516 games.

St. Pierre is  5’9″, which seems to be the main reason his stays in the NHL have been brief.

The Bulldogs open their season Friday night against the St. John’s Ice Caps at Copps Coliseum in Hamilton.  Hamilton will play eleven of it’s first fifteen games at home.

To start the season, St. Pierre will centre a line with rookie Sven Andrighetto and returnee Patrick Holland.   Here are the Bulldogs opening night lines.

Sven Andrighetto-Martin St. Pierre- Patrick Holland

Michael Blunden- Gabriel Dumont-Louis Leblanc

Erik Nystrom-Ben Duffy-AkimAliu

Nick Tarnasky-Jopnas Nattinen-Justin Courtnall

Joel Chouinard-Greg Pateryn

Drew Schiestel-Darren Dietz

 Nathan McIver-Magnus Nygren

Dustin Tokarski.