Apr 8th, 2011 | By | Category: Canadiens, Latest News

Mathieu Darche has been nominated by Canadiens hockey writers for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy.  The three key words used in describing qualifications for the award is “perseverance, dedication and sportsmanship” and they describe Darche; especially perseverance.

In his ten years since graduating from McGill, he has played for five NHL organizations and thirteen different professional teams including a year in Germany.

The Canadiens signed him last season to add veteran depth to their Hamilton Bulldogs farm team.  He played the first 32 games with them.  Then Andrei Kostitsyn got hurt in Montreal and on January 22nd Darche was called up.  That night, in his first game in a Canadiens uniform, Darche scored a goal and an assist and he was on his way.

Darche is one of thirty nominees.

The winner of the Masterton Trophy will be announced at the NHL award ceremonies in June.

Four members of the Canadiens have won the Masterton in the past; Claude Provost (’68), Henri Richard (‘74); Serge Savard (’79) and Saku Koivu (’02).  Last year, the Canadiens nominee was Jaroslav Halak.  Washington Capitals goaltender Jose Theodore was last year’s winner.

From Canadiens Publicity

MONTREAL (April 9, 2011) – The Montreal chapter of the Professionnal Hockey Writers Association (PHWA) announced today the selection of Montreal Canadiens’ forward Mathieu Darche as the team’s candidate for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy for the 2010-11 season.
The 34-year old Darche is completing his eight NHL season. Throughout the season, he was a true example of perseverance and determination. Signed as a free agent on July 2, 2009, Darche was named the National Hockey League Players’ Association (NHLPA) Player of the Week for the week ending last April 4.
The Montreal native has recorded 25 points (12 goals, 13 assists) in 58 games thus far this season, setting
new career personal-highs in regular season in goals and points.
Forward David Desharnais and defenseman Hal Gill also received votes. The Canadiens’ forward will now
be in contention along with the league’s 29 other nominees. The NHL will announce the Bill Masterton Trophy winner at the league’s annual award ceremony to be held in June, in Las Vegas.
The Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy is awarded to the NHL player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. The winner is selected by a poll among the 30 chapters of the PHWA at the end of the regular season. The trophy honors the memory of Bill Masterton, a former Minnesota North Stars player who lost his life following an NHL game on January 15, 1968.
Four Canadiens players have been awarded with the Masterton in league history; Saku Koivu (2001-02), Serge Savard (1978-79), Henri Richard (1973-74) and Claude Provost (1967-68), who was the very first recipient of the award.


Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: